Blog Archives

What will be the 2 new team names?

In 2008 when 8 franchises were to select the names for the eight teams, some guys did a blunder and some excellent names.

Here are the 8 team names:-

Chennai Super kings, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Those are all awesome names.

Now, two new teams are in. Kochi and Pune. In 2008, it was not much awaited to know the team name.

But, after 2 seasons of IPL, it has totally changed. The cost of the team is more than 3 times that of 2008.

So, you can drop in the team names you want the owners to keep and if by luck they see it the name you kept may become the team name.


Pune and Kochi joins IPL!

Yet another auction in the Indian Premier League. 5 groups were bidding for it. But, Sahara and Rendezvous World Sport paid an huge amount that Lalit Modi too didn’t expect of.

The Pune franchise were won by Sahara Adventure Sports – a part of the Sahara Group with a winning bid of USD 370 million as the highest bid. Sahara had bid similar amounts for three cities namely Ahmedabad, Nagpur and Pune and finally selected Pune as the host city for the new franchise.

The other franchise went to Rendezvous Sports World who won the Kochi franchise with a bid of USD 333 million.


We are absolutely delighted by the overwhelming response to our global Franchise Invitation to Tender process. As you can see the bidding for the two new official Franchises has been fair and transparent and is indicative of the revenue earning potential that the Indian Premier League represents.

I am also certain that the IPL fans in Kochi and Pune would be particularly excited with an IPL franchise for their respective cities. Given the high quality of franchises that we have selected, we are certain that both the new franchises will do everything in their power to ensure good competitive teams for next year.

All the bids received were of a very high standard and we would like to thank all of the organisations for their participation


The IPL is undoubtedly the most ground breaking international sports development in living memory. There is no precedent for what has been achieved by Mr. Lalit Modi and the BCCI over the last three years and the Sahara group is immensely proud to have won the Invitation to Tender from Pune.

I can promise the people of Pune – a team they will be proud of in next year’s IPL 2011. I would like to thank Mr. Modi and the BCCI-IPL for running a very transparent process to allocate the Franchises. All of us within Sahara Adventure Sports just cannot wait for IPL 2011 to commence


We have closely been following every development within the Indian Premier League right from the inaugural year. Today, I am very happy for our consortium of Rendezvous World Sport and the people Kochi as we finally have a team to call our own in this amazing city based sports franchise

Who will be the other 2 teams for IPL 4?

All the famous Businessmen, Business groups and film actors are ready to have a go and join the IPL with their teams. Fourteen bidders, of which 12 are new ones will bid for two teams for the IPL 4.

The city franchises up for bids include Nagpur, Pune, Ahmedabad, Kanpur, Dharamshala, Indore, Cuttack, Gwalior and Visakhapatnam.

Videocon Company and Adani Group had earlier won the bidding on March 7th but unluckily for them it was called of as the clause was not proper.

Multiple sources familiar with the matter said the contest to own the IPL teams would likely befive contenders—Sahara Group run by reclusive businessman Subrata Roy, the promoters of north-based Jaypee Group, the families running Videocon and Adani, and Pune-based builder Anirudh Deshpande.

Ajay Devgn, Sanjay Dutt and Suniel Shetty have also bought the tender documents.

“We are confident of winning the bid,” said Venugopal Dhoot, chairman of the Videocon group. Mr Dhoot is being backed by Bollywood stars Saif Ali Khan and Kareena Kapoor

The Franchises should bid for a total more than whooping $225 million which is 4.5 times more than that the base price of 2008 which was $50 million.

%d bloggers like this: