Blog Archives

India really prepared for 2011?

The last game between India and Sri Lanka saw a very poor performance from the Indian Batsmen. Yuvraj Singh, the highest scorer, scoring 38 runs. When others score, Yuvraj doesn’t score, when Yuvraj scores, others don’t score. India without Sachin Tendulkar+ Gautam Gambhir totally rely upon Virender Sehwag only. Read the rest of this entry


Sachin rested, Yuvraj back for Tri Series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the Indian Squad for the upcoming tri series. Yuvraj Singh has been called back while the likes of Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar and Harbhajan Singh have been rested.

The Committee headed by Kris Srikkanth, selected the One Day team for the Tri Series against Sri Lanka and New Zealand in Lanka from 10th August. Read the rest of this entry

T20 WC squad: India

Just when one third of the Indian Premier League is completed, Kris Srikkanth and co decided the final 15 players for the twenty twenty world Cup which will take place in West Indies starting April 29th.

It was a tough job to pick the 15 as there are many good players in the 30 man probables.

Young Pacer Ishant Sharma who was part of last year World Cup has been dropped giving a chance to Vinay Kumar.

But, some good performers till now in the IPL- Robin Uthappa, Saurabh Tiwary, Murali Karthik, Amit Mishra, Virat Kohli have not been considered.

The team is placed in group C along with the South Africans and Afghanisthan. Key players will be Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan who were missed in World Cup 2008.


MS Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Piyush Chawla, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Vinay Kumar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan.

The fiery Delhiite tigers are coming

The fiery Delhiite tigers are coming

Full time entertainment dene ke liye,

Aa raha hai Delhi opposition ke mann mein darr lanne ke liye.

Balla uthake aate hein Virender Sehwag,

Aate hin pitch par chaa jata hai aag.

Phir aate hein shaant Gambhir,

Naam sunn te hin mann mein bas jaata hai jeet ki tasveer.

Ball leke uttarte hein Amit Mishra,

After all this is the spinners’  era.

Wickets ke pichche rahete hein Dinesh,

Unke brilliant wicketkeeping se impressed ho chuka hai poora desh.

Pitch par jab aate hein AB De Villiers,

Everyone feels he is an exception among thrillers.

Ready ho jayo kyunki Delhi aa raha hai jeet par naam darj karne,

Aur baki saare minnows ko buri tarah harane.

Delhiites rule, koi shhak ??

Preview: Delhi Daredevils

The so called unlucky team, Delhi Daredevils have some match winners in their side, but have not won the semi finals in both the seasons. Last year they were stubbed by the excellence of the RCB team.

Gautam Gambhir took Captaincy when Sehwag told he doesn’t wants to be the Captain. A lot was expected from Gauti and Sehwag but they didn’t do so. All the work and batting was led by AB de Villers, TM Dilshan and Dinesh Karthik.

The Daredevils rode with the power back bowling of Ashish Nehra and Dirk Nannes, who joined the team only last year. Earlier this year, the Delhi team bought Wayne Parnell in the auction which adds a huge boast to the bowling attack. Even, Moises Henriques was signed up for the GMR owner Daredevils.

Sehwag, Gambhir, Dilshan, David Warner, de Villers, McDonald, Henriques and Karthik will add to the power packed batting while Nannes, Nehra, Mishra, Parnell, Vettori.

Both Andrew McDonald and Mosies Henriques should swing the blades and roll the arms too. DD will put a lot of hopes on both of them.


Virender Sehwag: A lot will be expected from Sehwag’s bat. He is in superb form this year. Last year in IPL was disastrous for him. He demoted him and player lower down the order. His innings will be the most depended.

Gautam Gambhir: The Captain of the side should lead from the front. Last year too was bad to him as he failed to capitalize from the starts he made. A Captain’s knock is the best knock.

TM Dilshan: The highest T20 run scorer, and Sri Lanka’s best T20 player will have a lot to do for the team. He led the team from the front last year which made them reach the semis. Lets see how he does this time.

AB de Villers: One of the most reliable batsman and the centurion in last IPL has a lot of damage to do this season too. He is in terrific form for the Proteas in the recent series against India.

Dirk Nannes: Daredevils last year rode with the power bowling of Dirk Nannes who took a lot of wickets and was the most relied upon. Lets see what damage he does this year.


AB de Villiers, Pradeep Sangwan, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Kedar Jadhav, Moises Henriques, Wayne Parnell, Sarandeep Singh, Shashi Ranjan, Sarabjeet Ladda, Ashish Nehra, Aavishkar Salvi, Mithun Manhas, David Warner, Andrew McDonald, Dirk Nannes, Farveez Maharoof, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Rajat Bhatia, Joginder Singh

Tendu, Viru and Bhajji given a rest

Since the Indians have taken the Micromax Mobile Cup, they seriously are going to experiment in the third and final ODI against South Africa in Ahemedabad by implementing some young lads into the squad.

The selectors have given a rest to the Almighty Sachin Tendulkar(u might be thinking what???). Wished he played and scored another century. Virender Sehwag too has been rested alongside Harbhajan Singh.

So, There will be a new pair of openers for the last one day because Viru and Tendu is rested.

And, Gauti, Yuvi and Zak are not been included in the side as they have not yet recovered from the injury.

Rookie Pacer Abhimanyu Mithun and Tamil Nadu player Murali Vijay have been included in the side.

Vijay and Karthik, both the Tamil Nadu mates will open the innings for the Indian team.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c), Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Sudeep Tyagi, S Sreesanth, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Abhimanyu Mithun and Ashish Nehra

Dravid, Yuvraj and Sreesanth out of the first test

Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh and S Sreesanth who are nursing from their injuries have been ruled out the first test against South Africa starting on Feb 6th in Nagpur’s VCA.

Even VVS Laxman who was ruled out of the second test match against Bangladesh with a wrist injury has been included in the side as he has been cured.

But, Tamil Nadu Skipper Dinesh Karthik has been removed from the side.

While, S Badrinath has been given a chance in the side with his Ranji teammate Murali Vijay who has cemented his place as the main backs are missing out. Badri among the top six batsman in the squad will surely have a test debut.

It is surprising that Sudeep Tyagi, Abhimanyu Mithun and Wridhiman Saha have been included in the side.

Tyagi is doing well in the domestic circuit and grabbed his opportunity with both hands when he was given a chance in the One Day team.

Newbie Abhimanyu Mithun has been in excellent form in the Ranjis for Karnataka as Mithun was the leading wicket taker in the Ranji Trophy, claiming 47 at 23.23

While, the Bengal Wicketkeeper Wridhiman Saha who has been selected ahead of Dinesh Karthik too has been in fine form scoring 318 runs at 38.75 in the domestic Ranji Trophy competition this season.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir

Murali Vijay, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, S. Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan

Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Sudeep Tyagi, Pragyan Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, Wridhiman Saha


Rohit Sharma (captain), Abhinav Mukund, Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), Ajinkya Rahane,

Manish Pandey, Cheteshwar Pujara, Abhishek Nayar, Piyush Chawla, R. Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Manpreet Gony.

The first match is set to be played in Nagpur on 6th. SO Watch out for it.

%d bloggers like this: