Blog Archives

Rajasthan Royals vs Deccan Chargers


It was not the best starts for the Defending Champs. The team expected Adam Gilchrist to score and give them a brisk start. Gilly trying to hit it on the on side miscued it and it went high and only fell in the hands of Yusuf Pathan. The weakened side- Rajasthan Royals went on high spirits with the wicket of the danger man.

It was about to turn worse for the Royals as Gibbs thrashed one Royal Bowler. But, RR did not let it happen as they picked up yet another with but not Gibbs it was Laxman.  Shane Warne bowled himself in the 7th over. It looked like he was back in form as he picked up the wicket of Gibbs in his 4th ball.

Just after another over, Symonds who was looking dangerous fell short of the crease when Jhunjhunwala threw as if he had a bullet arm. Venugopal Rao and T Suman didn’t have much experience so they too departed without troubling the scores. It looked like a one man stand with Rohit Sharma just short by one run of his fifty. Rahul Sharma’s last over blitzkreig took the team to148.


From the start of the tournament itself, RR looked a batting weak and heavily relied on Yusuf Pathan. Micheal Lumb gave the best start he could give for the Royals partnered by Naman Ojha. The Powerplay yielded 54 runs with 40 runs scored by Micheal Lumb.

All Naman had to do was to give the strike to Lumb. He was striking the ball with ease. Just after the powerplay Naman Ojha too tried to take the attack but was stumped.

At 55/1 and about 9 runs a over, it was a perfect stage set for Yusuf Pathan to take the attack. He did so in the process he gave an easy win for the Royals. The Chargers were charging up to attack Pathan, Symonds was sledging and a slip with a attacking field set for him. He hit it for a six out of his first ball.

Lumb and Pathan had a 46 run partnership. Pathan hit 8 balls out of the rope in great fashion along with his 2 fours. But, at last he won it as usual for the Rajasthan Royals and their owner Shilpa Shetty was waving the flag and shouting HALLA BOL.


Rajasthan Royals:
Naman Ojha, Micheal Lumb, Faiz Fazal, Adam Voges, Yusuf Pathan, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Paras Dogra, Shane Warne, Sumit Narwal, Siddharth Trivedi, Shaun Tait.

Deccan Chargers
Adam Gilchrist, VVS Laxman, Herchelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma, T Suman, Venugopal Rao, Chaminda Vaas, RP Singh, Rahul Sharma, Pragyan Ojha



Mongoose- The T20 Bat

Matthew Hayden recently released the bat for the IPL 3 in Chennai. If you see a picture of it, you will laugh. A giant batsman using a bat with blade size till the knee.

Yeah, this is the latest T20 Cricket bat as you know and Matthew Hayden smashed the Delhi Daredevils in their den for 93 runs all over the park.

Matthew Hayden, Andrew Symonds and Dwayne Smith will be seen using this bat.

These bats have smaller blade and longer handles. The bat will help the cricketers to score runs faster, said the Old fox. He said that in the beginning he was not sure whether these bats would be suitable for the players but after trying it he became convinced of its capability.

All these bats will bear the signature of Matthew Hayden. The price of the bats will vary between 17000 INR to 23000 INR.

Matthew Hayden after a blistering knock told:-

It is always good to try out new products. The mongoose bat is a good product as its gives you lot of power to hit the ball a long way. It is very much like a normal bat, but it surely gives a great deal of power with its sweet spot at the centre of the bat.

Here is its Mongoose review:

The bat’s extra power comes from increased rigidity in the blade and increased flexibility in the handle – so you can hit further and harder.Its blade is 33 per cent shorter than a conventional bat and the handle is 43 per cent longer.

Scientists call it the bat’s MMi, or ‘mass and moment of inertia’. It determines the amount of effort required by the batsman not only to swing, but also control the bat during the swing.

This makes the Mongoose a lighter, harder-hitting bat. And while it looks different to a conventional long-blade bat, when you pick it up its weight and handling feel pretty much the same.

The Mongoose also reconfigures the shoulders by dropping them down nine inches. The weight taken from the shoulders – about 20 per cent of the blade weight – is redistributed to the back of the new, shorter blade.

Preview: Deccan Chargers

The champions of IPL 2, the Deccan Chargers came back with a bang after finishing last in IPL 1. First season of IPL was considered as failure to them. They changed their Jerseys, Captain and their Coach to stun everyone in South Africa.

Led by the Motivative Former Australian, Adam Gilchirst, we should expect a lot from him again this year. A Captain should lead the team from front. And thats what Gilly did to the Deccan Chargers.

Now, with newbie Kemar Roach coming into the team, it surely reduces the burden of other bowlers. Roach was bought for a stunning price in the Auction which he too never expected.

Gibbs, Symonds and Dwayne Smith are the trump cards for the Chargers whom last year too were relied upon but didn’t be too effective.

Shaun Marsh’s brother, Mitchell Marsh is also joined the Deccan club. Like Shaun who scored 616 runs in the first IPL, a lot too will be expected from Mitchell Marsh.

But, the Indian pitch looks a bit bad to the Chargers because they lost IPL 1 here and they were royally thrashed out of CLT20 where both were in Indian soil.

Lets see what will happen in IPL 3 which is coming back home this year.

The Batting of the Deccans is filled with Gilchrist, Gibbs, Rohit Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Andrew Symonds and Mitchell Marsh.

Bowling is in terrific form with RP Singh, Ryan Harris, Kemar Roach and Pragyan Ojha.


Adam Gilchirst, Arjun Yadav, Harmeet Singh, Azhar Bilakhia, Kemar Roach, Mitchell Marsh, Anirudh Singh, A Ashish Reddy, Rahul Sharma, Bodapati Sumanth, T Suman, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Venugopal Rao, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Ryan Harris, Dwyane Smith, Chaminda Vaas, VVS Laxman, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Mohnish Mishra

KEY PLAYERS: Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Kemar Roach, Gibbs.

%d bloggers like this: