Category Archives: Uncategorized

4 tips to play Cricket better

4 Tips to play Cricket better:

Cricket has been described as the game of elegance and precision, with lot of people sitting around you staring and watching every movement of yours waiting to applaud your success. Read the rest of this entry



Instead of seeing here, Check my new website

Wishes of Independence Day

We form wish everyone a Happy Independence Day. Have a Wonderful day and Keep Visiting the latest FORUMS too.


Adithya R

Ganguly to lead MCC against Pak

Former Indian Captain, Sourav Ganguly will lead the Marylebone Cricket Club team against the Pakistan team in a Twenty twenty game in Lord’s Stadium on 27th June.

The Pakistanis will be led by Captain Shahid Afridi which is their first game there after the ICC World T20 2009.

Sourav Ganguly’s led MCC side will have Big names like Brian Lara who will play for MCC for the first time along with Lankan Old Fox Chaminda Vaas and Australian Ian Harvey.

“We are delighted to welcome to Lord’s a Pakistani side who have a proven track record in Twenty20 cricket. Shahid Afridi’s men will face an exciting MCC team comprising world-class performers and up-and-coming talent”, said the MCC head.

“Brian Lara is one of the finest batsmen to have ever played the game, and Sourav Ganguly is a world-leading Twenty20 cricketer. The match will provide spectators with a fantastic opportunity to see wonderful cricket and great cricketers.”

This game will form a sponsorship agreement between the MCC and the Pakistan Cricket Board. Pakistan will play Australia in the MCC Spirit of Cricket Test and Twenty20 Series in England throughout July.

Contest running

Check out this contest.

You can win upto a whooping $200 give away of themes, plugins etc etc…

Preview:Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians is probably the most high profile in the IPL. Thanks mainly to its icon player Sachin Tendulkar and being owned by the most reputed firm in the country-Reliance Industries Limited also helps. RIL had purchased the team for a whoping $111.9 million but the team has largely underperformed. But still MI was the most viewed team on TV.

The team started its 2008 campaign much to the disappointment to the fans with the absence of their icon Sachin Tendulkar.They lost the first 4 matches but then won 6 in a row under the captaincy of Shaun Pollock to bring themselves to the Semi Final contention. But they again lost 3 out of the last 4 matches and lost their way.All the matches they lost were on the last ball of the innings.

2009 season was no good. They bought in Zaheer Khan, Shikhar Dhawan and JP Duminy for $ 950000. The result was only that they lost 8,won 5 and drew 1.

This season looks somewhat better. With Jhonty Rhodes as their coach, it was  expected to be a much better fielding side. Sachin Tendulkar is looking in quite ominous form this time. And besides this they’ve roped in the explosive big-hitting Kieron Pollard for a massive $ 750000. Dwayne Bravo and Abhishek Nayar are expected to play bigger roles with both by swing their bats and rolling their arms.

JP Duminy can also roll his arm over whenever required along with Sanath Jayasuriya and Tendulkar himself. Like last season Tendulkar and Jayasuriya need to take their team to a flyer each time as expected with the most explosive opening batting pair.

The domestic players like Shikhar Dhawan and Saurabh Tiwary  also will have to play a lot better. Bowling seems to be an are of concern but is most likely to be spear headed by Bhajji, Zak and Malinga and Fernando.


Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Bravo, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard.


Sachin Tendulkar, Saurabh Tiwary, Jean-Paul Duminy, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Jayadev Shah, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ryan Mclaren, Graham Napier, Rajagopal Sathish, Abhishek Nayar, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ali Murtaza, Stuart Madan, Chandan Madan, Aditya Tare, Luke Ronchi, Harbhajan Singh, Syed Sahabbudin, Dilhara Fernando,Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga, Ishan Malhotra and Rahul Shukla.

Afghanistan qualify for T20 WC

The country with all the problems, terrorism and the US troops in their own backyard- Afghanistan has now been qualified for the T20 World Cup which is to be held in the Caribbean Islands later this year.

The Afghanis,managed to win the T20 qualifiers beating the Irish Team. Their journey started to cricket when they were rated in the Fifth group in 2001.

They beat the US team by 29 runs putting on their faces a shame. Next, in the Semi-finals they beat the hosts United Arab Emirates in Dubai in a crowd of odd 1000.

The Afghanis met the Ireland in the finals today and fortunately for them they won it for the first time. Under a crowd of 6000, most of them local supporters of Afghan team under Kabhir Khan proved they were strong enough to beat an European team.

What next, Afghanistan will head to the West Indies for the T20 World where they meet India in St.Lucia and South Africa in Barbados as the tournament starts from April 30th.

Hello Cricket Fans

Welcome You all to the Newly Launched The22Yard . So do bookmark us as you are going to the latest cricket news, match analysis, team news and even more.

Even with the ship of injuries, Lanka call back Mahela

It is tough time time going on for the Lankans, in my language i can call the seven and a half. The ship of injuries is increasing and if it continues it will look there will be more people injured than the ones in Bangladesh.

It started of with Angelo Matthews, Muttiah Muralidharn and Dilhara Fernando in India and then Ajantha Mendis. Then Jayasuriya was sacked from the squad.

The islanders were prompted to call up the three players after injuries to Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Muthumudalige Pushpakumara.

While middle-order batsman Silva has been ruled out of the tri-series owing to a broken thumb, opener Dilshan and all-rounder Pushpakumara are doubtful starters for Lanka’s next game against Bangladesh on Friday.

Pushpakumara injured his shoulder during the match against India, whereas a groin injury picked up during the opening tie against the hosts kept Dilshan out of the five-wicket win against India.

So now Mahela Jayawardane, Mahela Udwatte and uncapped wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Chandimal are the players who will fly to Bangladesh.

The main key players for The Lankans are Tharana, Sangakkara, Samaraweera and Kandamby who should perform to make them win the matches.

The 22 yard wishes you all a Happy new year

We at THE 22 YARD wish you a happy and prosperous new year 2010 and let your year ahead gloom to you an the Indian team..!!!

We wish all the cricketers a happy new year to play well in the upcoming matches this year.

%d bloggers like this: