Silva back, Welegedara, Kandamby left out of tri series

The Sri Lankan Selectors selected the Lankan squad for the tri series involving India and New Zealand starting August 10th in Lanka. Left hand Seamer Chanaka Welegedara and Batsman Thilina Kandamby have been left out for the Series. They are replaced by Pacer Dilhara Fernando and Batsman Chamara Silva.

The Spinning Assassin, Muttiah Muralitharan who recently retired from Tests has been rested for the One Day tournament though he was available for selection.

The 30 year old Middle order batsman Chamara Silva who earlier was a part of the Lankan squad was dropped after poor performances but has been called up along with Thisara Perera who had a decent performance in the Indian Premier League 3.

Lasith Malinga will lead the pace attack along with Kulasekara, Dilhara Fernando. With absence of Muttiah, the spinners chosen are Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Suraj Randiv.

Two all rounders of the home side are Angelo Matthews and Thisara Perera.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Mahela Jayawardene (vc), Chamara Silva, Thisara Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on August 7, 2010, in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: