Muralitharan to retire from Test after 1st game

Highest Wicket taker in Cricket, Muttiah Muralitharan has announced his retirement from Test matches Yesterday bringing an end to 18 years of bowling career.

The Veteran Spinner will play his final test against India on July 18th in Galle. He has taken a whooping 792 wickets of 132 tests and 515 wickets in 337 One Dayers. This King has taken 1,307 international wickets totally.

But he has given him only one test against India to achieve the 800 Wickets feat.

He said:-

I don’t think my retirement should be a concern for Sri Lanka because our conditions assist in producing spinners. But it’s difficult to get one like me because of the sheer number of wickets I have taken in comparison to others.

I have played enough and have nothing more to achieve. I already have records in both one-day and Test cricket. It’s just that I want eight more scalps to make it 800 wickets in Tests. It’s a personal target.

I have quite a few offers from county cricket and next year I will definitely go and play somewhere. I am also planning to play in the T20 leagues abroad after retirement.

Sri Lanka won the World Cup in 1996. I will be the happiest if I can end my international career with another Cup win under my belt. My effort will be to take Sri Lanka to the finals at least. Anything short will rankle forever.

I want to play some more cricket in other countries. Maybe a few years later I will think about it, but not in permanent capacity.

About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on July 7, 2010, in Sri lanka, test cricket and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

