Billions of Whistles for IPL 3

The Indian Premier League is regarded as the most innovative invention when it comes to the world of cricket. IPL season 1 introduced to us 8 teams which became bonded to us immediately. After the gigantic success of IPL Season 1, IPL season 2 was the most awaited event of the year. But against every expectation, IPL season 2 was shifted to the Rainbow Nation South Africa…. no prizes in guessing that it was a huge success there as well. This year 2010, as March 12 approached the heart beat of every cricket lover grew all the more faster. 7…6…5…4…3…2…1…0….. “DLF IPL BACK TO INDIA !!”.

IPL season 1 introduced to us Ravindra Jadeja and Pragyan Ojha…. Two hugely talented youngsters….. whereas IPL season 2 brought players like Manish Pandey and Ajinkya Rahane to the forefront. But I bet none of the editions could match the glamour of Summer Slam-3.

IPL season 3 started off with a bang initially with many surprises and upsets. At about midway of the tournament, it seemed as if the final clash would most probably be between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers. The most consistent team over the two years – Chennai Superkings was more towards the bottom than the top. Kumar Sangakkara who was the new skipper of the Punjabi brigade also seemed to be dismal occupying the bottom place till the very end of the mega multilateral tournament.

It was the last three weeks when every one of us saw all exciting action coming into play. No wonder, MSD is the best T20 captain ever, for CSK slowly but steadily and most miraculously reserved its semifinal booth outplaying even the outstanding Delhi Daredevils in the hunt. On the other hand, it was Deccan Chargers who were stuck in a fix after losing five matches in a row leaving them in a position where they had to win all their remaining five matches. Who would have dared to call that possible at that stage ?? The hard work of the purple cap holder did not go in vain for the last year’s champions cruised along to the semis winning all of the remaining matches.  As for Kolkata Knightriders they again failed to book a semifinal spot. Even the Rajasthan Royals could not repeat the IPL season 1 magic again.

Then came the semis … It was the challengers of Bangalore versus Mumbai Indians and the defending champions Deccan Chargers versus the Chennai Superkings.  The Battle of the champions – it was simply unbelievable to see the God of cricket – Sachin Tendulkar play like a energetic 17 year old…. running, diving and jumping around with such commitment. As a batsman, he retained the top spot right till the end outplaying the other challenger Mr. Consistent Jaques Kallis in the race. The first semi finals went in favour of the Mumbaikars. The second semifinal was a low scoring match where the Chargers succumbed under the Tamil supremacy. Chennai Superkings outplayed the Chargers in all the departments of the game. Early wickets… some stunning catches… and the composed temperament of the Captain made it possible for the Superkings to make it to the finals for the second time in three years.

The royal battle…. The clash of the titans…. Mumbai Indians versus Chennai Superkings on April 25th 2010. A glamorous star studded closing ceremony made it all the more wonderful to watch. Every cricket lover stayed glued to their seat for it was the God himself Sachin Tendulkar versus Captain Dependable Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Mumbai definitely had the upper edge since it was their home ground and was filled with supporters crying out, “ WE LOVE YOU SACHIN !!”. But what came up next made it a nail biting situation for the MI fans. CSK initially slow in their batting accelerated stupendously when the captain and deputy captain got together at the crease. Raina made a sparkling unbeaten 57 whereas Dhoni made a quickfire 22. CSK finally posted a total of 168 at the loss of 5 wickets. The Indians stumbled early on… Sachin inspite of a finger injury top scored with 48. Pollard who came in late made a scintillating 27 off 10 balls. But it was too late…. Mumbai was left in a spot where they had to chase 27 runs in the final over…. all over finally we have the champions…. The rocking Superkings winning over the Indians by a massive margin of 22 runs. It was a moment of pride and joy for every Superkings’ supporter especially me. Fireworks all over the D.Y. Patil stadium…. The revenge of IPL season 1 final avenged by CSK at the same venue…. Tears in the eyes of the home team supporters… simply a remarkable and unforgettable journey comes to an end.

Raina earned himself the Man of the final. The 20 year old Chotta Dhoni Saurabh Tiwary bagged the Under 23 success of the tournament while the master blaster was declared the Golden Player of the tournament. The lions of Chennai simply ecstatic went up to collect their awars for being the champions.

An amazing season blended with some disappointments ended gloriously. So, my dear friend, come along and shout with me, “Chennai Superkings ke whistle podu“.

Three Cheers to the Indian Premier League !!


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on July 4, 2010, in Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, IPL, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. CSK ku visil podu intha CHAMPIONS LEAGUE la!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: