Day 1 of the Maxertainment 3 ends on a high!

The IPL 3 has kick started in a superb form. Yet, another classy performance in the acts of the opening ceremony. The whole stadium rocked. Deepika was sizzling. UB-40 was fantastic. The crowds at DY Patil were going mad.

The first match, DC vs KKR, started off. DC’s Gilly won the toss and chose to field first. Rudi Koetzen said Lets Play and the Game begun. For the horror of the KKR team, they lost the first wicket in the first ball when Manoj Tiwary hit it to the covers.

Soon, the all expected Dada Ganguly too fell to the Old Fox Chaminda Vaas and took a long hop to the dug out for a duck.

It seemed all the same for the KKR team, same like the season two. Soon, Brad Hodge and Cheteshwar Pujara too got out. The Kolkata team were struggling at 31/4.

But, the 129 run partnership re-build the team and made their score a respectable one with Angelo Mathews (65 runs) and Owais Shah (54 runs).

The Deccan Chargers, Defending Champs came into bat with a target of 162 runs. The DC camp had a strong batting line up and everyone expected that it was a easy win for them.

The starting for the Chargers looked like slogging until VVS Laxman (22 runs) got out at 61 runs on the board. A good batsman goes out and a better one comes in. Herchelle Gibbs came in to partner his captain Adam Gilchrist. But the spin of Hodge, got him out for 54 runs just when the team score was reaching hundred.

Perhaps, everyone would have thought Symonds and Rohit Sharma is there and they will win it for them. But .everything changed with Gilly’s dismissal. Charl Langeveldt got his first wicket of the tournament when he got rid of his countryman, Gibbs (19 runs).

Rohit Sharma and Andrew Symonds were expected to do more. But, soon Symonds hit a ball to Sourav Ganguly’s hands ending his innings for just 5.

Rohit Sharma too didn’t stay long as not expected. Just adding 13 runs to the scorecard, he too perished with the ball of Mathews.

Winning dreams perhaps changed for them. Only, newbies were left. Anureet Singh and Tirumalsetti Suman could not ensure that DC win.

So, KKR ensured that they had a win in their hands as they won with 11 runs.

Its the same saga this year. DC were last in 2008 and came to win the IPL in 2009. KKR were last in 2009. The question is Will they be the Champs this year?


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on March 12, 2010, in Deccan Chargers, Kolkata Knight Riders and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: