Preview:Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians is probably the most high profile in the IPL. Thanks mainly to its icon player Sachin Tendulkar and being owned by the most reputed firm in the country-Reliance Industries Limited also helps. RIL had purchased the team for a whoping $111.9 million but the team has largely underperformed. But still MI was the most viewed team on TV.

The team started its 2008 campaign much to the disappointment to the fans with the absence of their icon Sachin Tendulkar.They lost the first 4 matches but then won 6 in a row under the captaincy of Shaun Pollock to bring themselves to the Semi Final contention. But they again lost 3 out of the last 4 matches and lost their way.All the matches they lost were on the last ball of the innings.

2009 season was no good. They bought in Zaheer Khan, Shikhar Dhawan and JP Duminy for $ 950000. The result was only that they lost 8,won 5 and drew 1.

This season looks somewhat better. With Jhonty Rhodes as their coach, it was  expected to be a much better fielding side. Sachin Tendulkar is looking in quite ominous form this time. And besides this they’ve roped in the explosive big-hitting Kieron Pollard for a massive $ 750000. Dwayne Bravo and Abhishek Nayar are expected to play bigger roles with both by swing their bats and rolling their arms.

JP Duminy can also roll his arm over whenever required along with Sanath Jayasuriya and Tendulkar himself. Like last season Tendulkar and Jayasuriya need to take their team to a flyer each time as expected with the most explosive opening batting pair.

The domestic players like Shikhar Dhawan and Saurabh Tiwary  also will have to play a lot better. Bowling seems to be an are of concern but is most likely to be spear headed by Bhajji, Zak and Malinga and Fernando.


Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Bravo, JP Duminy, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard.


Sachin Tendulkar, Saurabh Tiwary, Jean-Paul Duminy, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Jayadev Shah, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ryan Mclaren, Graham Napier, Rajagopal Sathish, Abhishek Nayar, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ali Murtaza, Stuart Madan, Chandan Madan, Aditya Tare, Luke Ronchi, Harbhajan Singh, Syed Sahabbudin, Dilhara Fernando,Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga, Ishan Malhotra and Rahul Shukla.


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on March 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: