Preview: Delhi Daredevils

The so called unlucky team, Delhi Daredevils have some match winners in their side, but have not won the semi finals in both the seasons. Last year they were stubbed by the excellence of the RCB team.

Gautam Gambhir took Captaincy when Sehwag told he doesn’t wants to be the Captain. A lot was expected from Gauti and Sehwag but they didn’t do so. All the work and batting was led by AB de Villers, TM Dilshan and Dinesh Karthik.

The Daredevils rode with the power back bowling of Ashish Nehra and Dirk Nannes, who joined the team only last year. Earlier this year, the Delhi team bought Wayne Parnell in the auction which adds a huge boast to the bowling attack. Even, Moises Henriques was signed up for the GMR owner Daredevils.

Sehwag, Gambhir, Dilshan, David Warner, de Villers, McDonald, Henriques and Karthik will add to the power packed batting while Nannes, Nehra, Mishra, Parnell, Vettori.

Both Andrew McDonald and Mosies Henriques should swing the blades and roll the arms too. DD will put a lot of hopes on both of them.


Virender Sehwag: A lot will be expected from Sehwag’s bat. He is in superb form this year. Last year in IPL was disastrous for him. He demoted him and player lower down the order. His innings will be the most depended.

Gautam Gambhir: The Captain of the side should lead from the front. Last year too was bad to him as he failed to capitalize from the starts he made. A Captain’s knock is the best knock.

TM Dilshan: The highest T20 run scorer, and Sri Lanka’s best T20 player will have a lot to do for the team. He led the team from the front last year which made them reach the semis. Lets see how he does this time.

AB de Villers: One of the most reliable batsman and the centurion in last IPL has a lot of damage to do this season too. He is in terrific form for the Proteas in the recent series against India.

Dirk Nannes: Daredevils last year rode with the power bowling of Dirk Nannes who took a lot of wickets and was the most relied upon. Lets see what damage he does this year.


AB de Villiers, Pradeep Sangwan, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Kedar Jadhav, Moises Henriques, Wayne Parnell, Sarandeep Singh, Shashi Ranjan, Sarabjeet Ladda, Ashish Nehra, Aavishkar Salvi, Mithun Manhas, David Warner, Andrew McDonald, Dirk Nannes, Farveez Maharoof, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Rajat Bhatia, Joginder Singh


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on March 8, 2010, in Delhi Daredevils, IPL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: