After a very long break i’m back…!!!

Its bad that I took a very long break in fact 5 days.. I didn’t cover many news, the controversies and the Kotla Fiasco.

But now I’m up with the squad for the Tri- series.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Amit Mishra.

Sachin Tendulkar has been rested while Rohit Sharma has been given a chance.

Pacer Ashoke Dinda and Leggie Mishra has been picked while Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar and Pragyan Ojha has been dropped.

Tendulkar has asked for rest but he will play for the Test series.

Speedster S. Sreesanth, who was down with swine flu in the ODI series against Sri Lanka after making an impressive return in the Test series, has recovered and finds a place. Pacer Sudeep Tyagi has retained his place while Dinesh Karthik has been named as the second wicketkeeper.


The Lankan squad has many different names from the Indian tour. Veteran jayasuriya, Lasith Malinga and Ajantha Mendis has been dropped from the squad while Kapugedara too is been axed.

The Sri Lankan team will miss Muttiah Muralidharan, Angelo Matthews and Dilhara Fernando who are suffering from injuries.

The selectors recalled exciting middle-order batsman Chamara Silva back into the fold, while also sending an invitation to leg-spinner Malinga Bandara to fill in the vacant spinner’s slot.

Selectors have also named uncapped 20-year-old batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, while retaining all-rounder Thissara Perera, seamer Suranga Lakmal and spinner Suraj Randiv, who shone on debut in the recent tour of India.

THE SQUAD: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Thilina Kandamby, Lahiru Thirimanne, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Thissara Perera, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedara.


Bangladesh axed opening batsman Zunaed Siddique and left-arm spinner Enamul Haque Jr while Shafilul Islam the uncapped player has been included.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Mohammad Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah, Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kopali, Shafiul Islam.


About Adithya Ramesh

Yo people. This is Adithya. A student who loves what he does. Has passion for Cricket and is a die hard SRT fan. Loves to photograph and is a travel freak

Posted on December 30, 2009, in Team news and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: